Skip to main content

Posts

Peek Inside a Book - Window on the Bay

Book Beginnings on Friday from Rose City Reader The Friday 56 with Freda's Voice.

This week I'm reading: Window on the Bay by Debbie Macomber



It Begins: Prologue
Jenna
Where It All Began
"We need to talk," Maureen said, as we walked across the quad at the University of Washington's main campus. The cherry trees were in full bloom, and the fragrance filled the air.



On Page 56: No need to pause - my reason were multiple. "First off, he's a surgeon."

"That doesn't make him a serial murderer," Maureen pointed out. 

Verdict: So far I'm really enjoying this book.  My mom and a friend have both finished it and said it's like a Hallmark movie, but sometimes that's just what you need to read.
Recent posts

It's Monday! What are you reading? - August 12

Currently Reading:

Title: Window on the Bay
Author: Debbie Macomber
Date Started: August 7
Goodreads Summary: 
Jenna Boltz's life is at a crossroads. After a messy divorce from her surgeon husband nearly twenty years ago, she raised her two children on her own, juggling motherhood with her beloved job as a Seattle intensive-care nurse. Now that Paul and Allie have gone to college and moved out, Jenna can't help but wonder what her future holds.

Her best friend, Maureen, is excited for Jenna's newfound independence. Now is the perfect time to finally book the trip to Paris they've been dreaming of since their college days. But when it comes to life's other great adventure--dating--Jenna still isn't sure she's ready to let love in . . . until an unexpected encounter begins to change her mind.

When Jenna's elderly mother breaks her hip, Dr. Rowan Lancaster saves the day. Despite his silent, stoic exterior, Rowan is immediately smitten with Jenna. And even th…

Peek Inside a Book - Wanderers

Book Beginnings on Friday from Rose City Reader The Friday 56 with Freda's Voice.

This week I'm reading: Wanderers by Chuck Wendig


It Begins: PRELUDE THE COMET
The woman who discovered the comet, Yumiko Sakamoto, age twenty-eight, was an amateur astronomer in Okayama Prefecture, in the town of Kurashiki. 

On Page 56: Shana reached down, massaged her calves through her jeans. Walking all night had left her exhausted. She asked Zig: "You bring me breakfast?"

Verdict: As I said on Monday, the novel is a bit slow-moving but it's engrossing.  There are a number of storylines and I'm intrigued into how they are going to intertwine. Each time they get woven together it's another OMG or AHA moment that just adds to the story. I'm really enjoying it and I already know it's going to be my next 5 star book of 2019.

It's Monday! What are you reading? - August 5

I've hit a bit of a slump in my reading, but I'm really enjoying this book. It's big so I can't be bringing it everywhere with me, so all I want to do is sit in one place and read!  It's a bit slow, but the story is so engrossing that you just want to keep reading to see how everything is going to play out.

Currently Reading:

Title: Wanderers
Author: Chuck Wendig
Date Started: July 20
Goodreads Summary: 
A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. So…

Little Thoughts about Book Club Reads - April-June

So besides the library book club meetings, I also was able to make it to a Meetup group book club since I hosted it! 

Title: Orphan Train Author: Christina Baker Kline Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Review: I loved this book, even though I felt it used too many stereotypes and the ending felt rushed.  The connection between Viv and Molly was great and the idea of portaging and Viv's pack rat attic was a nice device to weave the stories together.  I also liked how with each change in her live Viv had a new name, reminded me of The Girl with Seven Names.
--

Title: The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Author: Alexander McCall Smith Rating: 3 of 5 stars
Review: This was a bit too slow moving for me, even though it was a good reflection of the culture. I did like how the stories were about the people and not so much about the cases she was solving. I enjoyed the description of working in a mine, around the time we read this book, I had just finished The Power of One which also talks about working in a…

It's Monday! What are you reading? July 8

Currently Reading:

Title: Rancher in Training
Author: Marie Johnston
Date Started: July 7
Goodreads Summary: 
Deputy Farah James arrests bad boys, she doesn’t date them. So when an ex-con with a fiery past returns to town, she ignores the criminal things he does to her pulse. Behind bars, Jesse Rodriguez and his wicked looks were easy to dismiss, but as a free man with a life to reclaim, he’s never been more dangerous to her—or her job and the ranch that depends on her paycheck.

When stopping to help a stranded motorist puts Jesse on the radar of the local deputy, for once, he doesn’t complain. After all, Farah’s just as cute as he remembers. Too bad she’s also an icy professional who doubts he’s a changed man. He’s willing to give her up as a lost cause and make his way out of town…until an accident strands him at the ranch next door.

Crossing paths on duty is one thing, but seeing how good Jesse is with his hands threatens everything she’s ever worked for. But Farah’s not the only o…

It's Monday! What are you reading? - July 1

Currently Reading:

Title: The Woman in Cabin 10
Author: Ruth Ware
Date Started: June 30
Goodreads Summary: Lo Blacklock, a journalist who writes for a travel magazine, has just been given the assignment of a lifetime: a week on a luxury cruise with only a handful of cabins. The sky is clear, the waters calm, and the veneered, select guests jovial as the exclusive cruise ship, the Aurora, begins her voyage in the picturesque North Sea. At first, Lo's stay is nothing but pleasant: the cabins are plush, the dinner parties are sparkling, and the guests are elegant. But as the week wears on, frigid winds whip the deck, gray skies fall, and Lo witnesses what she can only describe as a dark and terrifying nightmare: a woman being thrown overboard. The problem? All passengers remain accounted for and so, the ship sails on as if nothing has happened, despite Lo's desperate attempts to convey that something (or someone) has gone terribly, terribly wrong.

Title: Awkward: The Science of Why We…