Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from August, 2019

Peek Inside a Book - Killers of the Flower Moon

Book Beginnings on Friday from Rose City Reader The Friday 56 with Freda's Voice.

This week I'm reading: Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI
by David Grann



It Begins: In April, millions of tiny flowers spread over the blackjack hills and vast prairies in the Osage territory of Oklahoma. There are Johnny-jump-ups and the spring beauties and little bluets. The Osage writer John Joseph Mathews observed that the galaxy of petals makes it look as if the "gods had left confetti."

On Page 56: Money was the one means at Mollie's disposal that might induce the indifferent white authorities to pursue a killer of Indians. 

Verdict: I'm almost done this book and I'm loving it!  As a true crime fan, I've been drawn into the case, one I've never heard of, as well as the formation of the FBI.

Peek Inside a Book - Window on the Bay

Book Beginnings on Friday from Rose City Reader The Friday 56 with Freda's Voice.

This week I'm reading: Window on the Bay by Debbie Macomber



It Begins: Prologue
Jenna
Where It All Began
"We need to talk," Maureen said, as we walked across the quad at the University of Washington's main campus. The cherry trees were in full bloom, and the fragrance filled the air.



On Page 56: No need to pause - my reason were multiple. "First off, he's a surgeon."

"That doesn't make him a serial murderer," Maureen pointed out. 

Verdict: So far I'm really enjoying this book.  My mom and a friend have both finished it and said it's like a Hallmark movie, but sometimes that's just what you need to read.

It's Monday! What are you reading? - August 12

Currently Reading:

Title: Window on the Bay
Author: Debbie Macomber
Date Started: August 7
Goodreads Summary: 
Jenna Boltz's life is at a crossroads. After a messy divorce from her surgeon husband nearly twenty years ago, she raised her two children on her own, juggling motherhood with her beloved job as a Seattle intensive-care nurse. Now that Paul and Allie have gone to college and moved out, Jenna can't help but wonder what her future holds.

Her best friend, Maureen, is excited for Jenna's newfound independence. Now is the perfect time to finally book the trip to Paris they've been dreaming of since their college days. But when it comes to life's other great adventure--dating--Jenna still isn't sure she's ready to let love in . . . until an unexpected encounter begins to change her mind.

When Jenna's elderly mother breaks her hip, Dr. Rowan Lancaster saves the day. Despite his silent, stoic exterior, Rowan is immediately smitten with Jenna. And even th…

Peek Inside a Book - Wanderers

Book Beginnings on Friday from Rose City Reader The Friday 56 with Freda's Voice.

This week I'm reading: Wanderers by Chuck Wendig


It Begins: PRELUDE THE COMET
The woman who discovered the comet, Yumiko Sakamoto, age twenty-eight, was an amateur astronomer in Okayama Prefecture, in the town of Kurashiki. 

On Page 56: Shana reached down, massaged her calves through her jeans. Walking all night had left her exhausted. She asked Zig: "You bring me breakfast?"

Verdict: As I said on Monday, the novel is a bit slow-moving but it's engrossing.  There are a number of storylines and I'm intrigued into how they are going to intertwine. Each time they get woven together it's another OMG or AHA moment that just adds to the story. I'm really enjoying it and I already know it's going to be my next 5 star book of 2019.

It's Monday! What are you reading? - August 5

I've hit a bit of a slump in my reading, but I'm really enjoying this book. It's big so I can't be bringing it everywhere with me, so all I want to do is sit in one place and read!  It's a bit slow, but the story is so engrossing that you just want to keep reading to see how everything is going to play out.

Currently Reading:

Title: Wanderers
Author: Chuck Wendig
Date Started: July 20
Goodreads Summary: 
A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. So…